Meditate and Create


Contemplation on Nature - Yoga with Sejel

Yoga and Nature 
Yoga and meditation can strengthen our connection with nature. 
By spending time in contemplation of the natural world and our relationship to it we are led to the appreciation of all that is and this can give us a fresh perspective on how we treat our environment. 

Beyond the world of things 
The spirit smiles  The flower sings Peace within  That nature brings
Yoga with Sejel

Meditate on a Flower and Relax

Meditation on a lotus flower
Looking at flowers
The eyes relax
The muscles around the eyes soften
The heart and spirit follow 

Sankalpa in Savasana - Relax, Reflect and Re-Visit the Self.

Sankalpa - Relax, Reflect and Re-Visit the Self. 

Your Sankalpa is your deepest desire. Relaxing in the relaxation posture of savasana allows us to create the space to look inwards and naturally reflect on our life's purpose. The deep relaxation and feeling of peace and unity that can be experienced in yoga is essential for our true creative nature to thrive.  Yogis believed that once we look inward it is easy to set intention. If this is done in the spirit of truth all that follows is pure flow - natural joy, light, unity, connection to all life, reverence for nature, ease of movement, presence.  

Living and Breathing Yoga

Patanjali's Eight Limbs of Yoga start with Ahimsa - compassion, or put another way, non-violence. 
1. Yama - Points for inner contemplation: Ahimsa - non -violence to oneself and others in thought, word and deed.
Satya - truth
Asteya - non stealing
Brahmacharya - conservation of vital energy, increasing willpower and focus.
Aparigraha - non-possessiveness, non-grasping, non-greed. Letting go of the need to acquire things for the sake of hoarding, allowing space in relationships, letting go of past experiences. Living in the moment. 
2. Niyama - Outward observances - Saucha - cleanliness 
Santosa - contentment, satisfaction, gratitude
Tapas - heat, authentic spiritual practice
Swadhyaya - study of the inner Self, study of spiritual scriptures
Iswara pranidhana - surrender to a higher source, to the source of creation
3. Asana - yoga postures
4. Pranayama - control of the vital life energy in the form of breathing techniques
5. Pratyahara - withdraw of the senses in towards the Sel…

Living in Harmony: Yama - The First Limb of Yoga

Yamas - Our Understanding of the Universal Laws of Nature and Our Relationship with Ourselves and Our Environment.
Patanjali's Yoga Sutras describe the Eight Limbs of Yoga. It is important to note that these eight limbs are interrelated and can therefore only be experienced together as a whole, rather than as consecutive steps. The first limb of Yoga, Yamas, is about respecting and learning from the laws of nature. We regain our sense of union through postures, pranayama (breathing), and meditation, rather than feeling separate from nature.
The motivation is to decrease dukha, or suffering, to increase sukha, or happiness, and to lead towards sat-chit-ananda, theunitive yogic state oftruth, consciousness and bliss. Even if we can only experience a glimpse of this in fleeting moments during meditation we are at the very least improving our well being and potentially feeling connected and inspired in the way that we need it most. When practiced with care, respect, and in the spirit o…